Tuesday, July 19, 2005

Buddha's The Noble Eightfold Path

The Noble Eightfold Path
The path is noble in the sense that anyone who walks on this path diligently
becomes a noble person, a saintly person, a pure-hearted person.
The Noble Eightfold Path is divided into three divisions.
The first is sila-morality, which is summed up as: Sabba papassa akaranam
Abstain from all sinful actions-that is, all unwholesome actions, physical or vocal, which hurt other beings and disturb their peace and harmony.
The second part of the Path is samadhi-one-pointed concentration of wholesome mind, summed up as: Kusalassa upasampada
Perform wholesome actions with concentrated, wholesome mind.
The third part is panna-wisdom or insight, summed up as: Sacittapariyodapanam
Purify the totality of mind by developing insight.
These three trainings are the teaching of all the Buddhas of the past
and will be the teaching of all the Buddhas of the future.
That is why it is said, Etam Buddhana sasanam.
This is the teaching of all the Buddhas. ¦


Post a Comment

<< Home